The Detlefsen Museum has one of the longest traditions in Schleswig-Holstein and provides a comprehensive view of the history of Glückstadt and the region.
Glückstadt was founded in 1617 by King Christian IV of Denmark. At the Detlefsen Museum, visitors can still get a sense of the former glory and splendour of the Danish kingdom. The museum is located in a Renaissance palace – the Brockdorff Palais of 1632. It is located at the centre of the historic town of Glückstadt, directly at the Fleth, the historic town’s canal lined with trees.
The main focus of the museum, redesigned in 2007/08, is on the unique history of Glückstadt and its founder King Christian IV of Denmark. Suits of armour, cannons, uniforms and flags are a witness to Glückstadt’s rich history under Danish rule. The diversity of the Elbmarschen is visible in the exhibition on home decoration/furnishing and peasant life in general. An original Döns (farmhouse room) from around 1800, a pharmacy from 1853, objects from handcraft and industry, paintings, valuable furniture and panelling, silver, porcelain, jewellery and traditional clothing are proud remains of a rich past.
The seafaring section vividly shows the dramatic struggle between man and whale. Harpoons and flensing knives are witness to the harsh business of the Greenland whalers. Glückstadt’s ongoing tradition of herring fishing is made tangible through model ships, Kantjes (herring barrels) and the fishermen’s tools.
The Detlefsen Museum regularly hosts special Arts and Culture Exhibitions. There is also a programme for children as well as presentations, readings and concerts.