The Detlefsen Museum has one of the longest traditions in Schleswig-Holstein and provides a comprehensive view of the history of Glückstadt and the region.
 
Glückstadt was founded in 1617 by King Christian IV of Denmark. At the Detlefsen Museum, visitors can still get a sense of the former glory and splendour of the Danish kingdom. The museum is located in a Renaissance palace – the Brockdorff Palais of 1632. It is located at the centre of the historic town of Glückstadt, directly at the Fleth, the historic town’s canal lined with trees.
 
The main focus of the museum, redesigned in 2007/08, is on the unique history of Glückstadt and its founder King Christian IV of Denmark. Suits of armour, cannons, uniforms and flags are a witness to Glückstadt’s rich history under Danish rule. The diversity of the Elbmarschen is visible in the exhibition on home decoration/furnishing and peasant life in general. An original Döns (farmhouse room) from around 1800, a pharmacy from 1853, objects from handcraft and industry, paintings, valuable furniture and panelling, silver, porcelain, jewellery and traditional clothing are proud remains of a rich past.
 
The seafaring section vividly shows the dramatic struggle between man and whale. Harpoons and flensing knives are witness to the harsh business of the Greenland whalers. Glückstadt’s ongoing tradition of herring fishing is made tangible through model ships, Kantjes (herring barrels) and the fishermen’s tools.
 
The Detlefsen Museum regularly hosts special Arts and Culture Exhibitions. There is also a programme for children as well as presentations, readings and concerts.
Detlefsen Museum
Detlefsen Museum Reetdach / Thatched roof
Café im Museumsgarten / Garden café
Detlefsen-Museum,
Am Fleth 43, 25348 Glückstadt
Phone: +49 (0)4124-93 05 20

www.detlefsen-museum.de

Opening hours:
Wednesday to Sunday 2-5pm

(January and February: Thursday, Saturday and Sunday 2-5pm)

Admission: Adults €4, reduced price €2.50, children under 14 years of age are admitted free of charge, family ticket (minimum of 3 people) €7.50, guided tour by prior arrangement (minimum of 6 people) €5.00 per person plus admission fee.

For information on current events and exhibitions, please go to our calendar of events.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

Palais für aktuelle Kunst

Das Detlefsen-Museum gehört zu den traditionsreichsten Museen Schleswig-Holsteins und vermittelt ein umfassendes Bild der Geschichte Glückstadts und der Region.

Glückstadt wurde 1617 von dem dänischen König Christian IV. gegründet. Im Detlefsen-Museum ist der Glanz des dänischen Königshauses noch zu spüren. Das Museum ist in einem Renaissance-Palais, dem Brockdorff-Palais von 1632, untergebracht. Es liegt im Zentrum des Stadtdenkmals Glückstadt direkt am Fleth, dem historischen von Bäumen gesäumten Wasserlauf.

In den 2007/08 neu gestalteten Räumen des Museums stehen die einzigartige Gründungsgeschichte von Glückstadt und ihr Gründer, der dänische König Christian IV., im Mittelpunkt. Rüstungen, Kanonen, Uniformen und Fahnen zeugen von der bewegten Geschichte Glückstadts unter dänischer Herrschaft. In den Abteilungen zur Wohnkultur und den bäuerlichen Lebenswelten eröffnet sich die Vielfältigkeit der Elbmarschen. Eine originale Döns (Bauernstube) aus der Zeit um 1800, die Stadtapotheke von 1853, Objekte aus Handwerk und Gewerbe, Gemälde, kostbare Möbel und Wandvertäfelungen, Silber, Porzellan, Schmuck und Trachten erzählen von einer reichen Vergangenheit.

Vom dramatischen Kampf mit dem Wal wird in der Abteilung Seefahrt berichtet. Harpunen und Flensmesser zeugen vom rauen Geschäft der Grönlandfahrer. Die heute noch in Glückstadt lebendige Tradition der Heringsfischerei wird anhand von Schiffsmodellen, Kantjes (Heringsfässer) und dem Handwerkszeug der Heringsfischer veranschaulicht.

Das Detlefsen-Museum veranstaltet regelmäßig Sonderausstellungen zu Kunst und Kultur. Es gibt ein Programm für Kinder, Vorträge, Lesungen und Konzerte.

Besonderer Tipp:
Mit dem Audioguide können die Besucher selbständig durch das Museum wandeln und die Schätze der Sammlung entdecken.

Detlefsen Museum
Detlefsen Museum Reetdach / Thatched roof
Café im Museumsgarten / Garden café

Detlefsen-Museum im Brockdorff-Palais
Am Fleth 43, 25348 Glückstadt
Tel. 04124-93 05 20
museum@glueckstadt.de
www.detlefsen-museum.de

Öffnungszeiten:
Mittwoch bis Sonntag 14-17 Uhr
(Januar & Februar: Donnerstag, Samstag & Sonntag 14-17 Uhr)

Preise: Erwachsene 4,00 Euro, ermäßigt 2,50 Euro, Kinder unter 14 Jahren frei, Familienkarte (ab 3 Personen) 7,50 Euro, Führung nach Vereinbarung (ab 6 Personen) 5,00 Euro pro Person zzgl. Eintritt.

Informationen zu laufenden Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen finden Sie unter Veranstaltungen.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Geben Sie einen Begriff ein und drücken Enter um zu suchen.